Top 5 Latest World Cup Winning Goals

Join our Telegram channel for our exclusive free betting tips, picks and offers.

Following Iran’s heroic 2-0 win over Wales in Group B with both goals coming after the 98th minute, we’re taking a look at the latest World Cup winners in history.

There are few better sights in football than a late winner and what better stage to do it on than the World Cup with the eyes of the globe watching?

Here are our top five latest World Cup winning goals, including the likes of Mario Gotze’s extra-time winner in the 2014 final to lift the trophy for Germany and dismiss Lionel Messi’s Argentina.

Related: Youngest scorers at World Cup | Jude Bellingham joins list at 19

1. Mario Gotze vs Argentina, 2014 Final (113′)


Mario Gotze came on as a substitute shortly before the end of regulation time and won a fourth World Cup for Germany in Brazil, controlling Andre Schurrle’s cross on the chest and volleying home past a helpless Sergio Romero.

Gotze was awarded the Man of the Match trophy and appeared to be one of Germany’s brightest young prospects at the time, leaving Borussia Dortmund for Bayern Munich just a year earlier for €37m.

2. Helmut Rahn vs Hungary, 1954 Final (84′)

csm dfm hall of fame helmut rahn detailfoto5 2c8a692e97

West Germany’s Helmut Rahn put the cherry on top of a fabulous comeback from 2-0 down against Hungary to win 3-2 and lift the World Cup at the Wankdorf Stadium, Bern.

Ferenc Puskas and Zoltan Czibor both scored inside the first ten minutes to give Hungary a dream lead, but Max Morlock pulled one back minutes later before Rahn equalised in the 18th minute and added his second in the 84th minute.

Hungary were outright favorites to win the tournament and nicknamed the ‘Golden Team’ or ‘Mighty Magyars,’ unbeaten in 31 games before the fatal final against West Germany.

3. Jorge Burruchaga vs Brazil, 1986 Final (84′)


Jorge Burruchaga won the 1986 World Cup for Argentina against West Germany in the 84th minute, latching onto Diego Maradona’s perfectly timed pass and finishing past Harald Schumacher.

Six yellow cards were issued in this match, making it the most booked World Cup final until 2010 between Spain and Netherlands. Burruchaga’s winner made it two World Cup triumphs in the last three tournaments for Argentina.

Related: Top 10 Most Valuable World Cup Players Who Will Not Represent Their Birth Nation

4. Andres Iniesta vs Netherlands, 2010 Final (116′)

2010 F Iniesta 0 1 NED ESP

Andres Iniesta scored the biggest goal in Spain’s World Cup history in the 2010 final against the Netherlands, firing home on the half-volley past Maarten Stekelenburg between the sticks.

With four minutes to go until penalties, Fernando Torres broke up the field and his pass deflected into the path of the Barcelona midfielder who made no mistake in winning Spain a first World Cup trophy.

5. Cheshmi and Rezaeian vs Wales, 2022 Group Stage (90+8′, 90+11′)

skysports iran wales roozbeh cheshmi 5977853

Wales fell to a disappointing 2-0 defeat against Iran on Friday, all but ending their hopes of reaching the knockout stages in their first World Cup since 1958.

Goalkeeper Wayne Hennessey was sent off with less than five minutes to go and Iran took full advantage of the extra man, with Roozbeh Cheshmi scoring in the 98th minute and Ramin Rezaeian adding a second three minutes later.

Cheshmi’s strike marked the latest regulation game winner in FIFA World Cup history.

Related World Cup Articles

Latest news

View all
Arrow to top