European Championship Winners List | Most Euro Titles

The UEFA European Championship (commonly referred to as the ‘Euros’) is a national men’s football competition between European countries held every four years.

The Euros are planned to operate in an alternate four-year cycle to the World Cup, so fans see the Euros and the World Cup alternate every two years.

Nine countries have won the Euros to date: Germany and Spain with three titles, France with two titles while Portugal, Italy, Netherlands, Denmark, Soviet Union, Czechoslovakia and Greece have one title each.

Spain is the only country to win consecutive titles, in 2008 and 2012.

All European Championship Winners

Year Host(s) Winner Score Runner-up
2021 Multiple Countries Italy 1-1 (3-2) ps England
2016 France Portugal 1–0 aet France
2012 Poland & Ukraine Spain 4-0 Italy
2008 Austria & Switzerland Spain 1-0 Germany
2004 Portugal Greece 1-0 Portugal
2000 Belgium & Netherlands France 2-1 asdet Italy
1996 England Germany 2-1 asdet Czech Republic
1992 Sweden Denmark 2-0 Germany
1988 West Germany Netherlands 2-0 Soviet Union
1984 France France 2-0 Spain
1980 Italy West Germany 2-1 Belgium
1976 Yugoslavia Czechoslovakia 2-2 aet / (5-3) ps West Germany
1972 Belgium West Germany 3-0 Soviet Union
1968 Italy Italy 1-1 aet / 2-0 replay Yugoslavia
1964 Spain Spain 2-1 Soviet Union
1960 France Soviet Union 2-1 aet Yugoslavia


aet = after extra time
asdet =after sudden death extra time
ps = after penalty shootout

More European Championship Resources:

Euros Live Streaming Links
Euro 2020 News

Arrow to top