The Scottish Premier League is a league full of tradition and history. It features two of the biggest city rivalries in the world in Celtic-Rangers and Hearts-Hibs, and it also features an intense yearly battle for the championship.

Live Scottish Premier League games don’t garner as much television coverage as the English Premier League does, but few football fans are more passionate than fans of the SPL.

Live Scottish Premier League games are readily available to those who live in the United Kingdom and Australia, but to fans in other areas, the best option is watching live Scottish Premier League games online.

Scottish Premier League Past And Present

The Scottish Premier League in its current incarnation has only been around since the 1998/99 season, but the Scottish top flight has been in existence since 1890.

After being known as the Scottish League (1890-93), the First Division (1893-1975), and the Premier Division (1975-98), the member clubs of the Premier Division broke away from the Scottish Football League in 1998 and formed what’s now the Scottish Premier League.

The league was expanded from 10 teams to its current 12-team format for the 2000/01 season. The Scottish Premier League season is a 38-game season, with each club playing one another three times in the season‘s first 33 games. After the first 33 games, the top six and bottom six are split up, with those teams playing one another once.

The SPL champions gain entry to the UEFA Champions League group stage, with the runners-up earning a place in the Champions League playoff round. The third and fourth-placed clubs, along with the winners of the Scottish Cup, earn places in the UEFA Europa League.

Scottish football is dominated by Glaswegian arch-rivals Celtic and Rangers, who are known as the Old Firm. Rangers have won 52 titles, which is also a record for most domestic titles of any club in the world. Celtic have won 42 titles, and their quest for a four-peat was denied last season by Rangers, who secured the title on the season‘s final day.

The last time neither club won the title was 1985, when now-Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson led Aberdeen to their second straight title.

Also see: Scottish Premier League Transfers | Scottish Premier League Table | Scottish Premier League Fixtures | Scottish Premier League Statistics.