Gareth Southgate’s provisional 33-man England squad for Euro 2020 announced


Gareth Southgate has revealed his 33-man provisional squad for the upcoming European Championships.

The original plan was to announce the final 26-man squad for the tournament today.

However, with some players carrying injuries and several others still to play in major European finals, Southgate has opted to name a provisional squad.

The final squad will be named by June 1, in which seven of the provisional roster will be cut.

Trent Alexander-Arnold, who was not included in the England squad during the last international break in March, has been given a recall.

Eric Dier has not been selected, despite being a regular in Southgate’s selections over the last few years.

Three players have earned their first-ever call-ups to the senior team. Sheffield United’s Aaron Ramsdale arrives as a fourth choice goalkeeper, while defenders Ben Godfrey and Ben White are also included.

Full Squad

Stones, Maguire and Lingard are all in the England squad

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Man Utd), Sam Johnstone (West Brom), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Sheff Utd).

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Wolves), Ben Godfrey (Everton), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Man Utd), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Man Utd), John Stones (Man City), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Man City), Ben White (Brighton).

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (West Ham/Man Utd), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds), Declan Rice (West Ham), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton).

Forwards: Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Phil Foden (Man City), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Mason Greenwood (Man Utd), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Man Utd), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Man City), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa).

Read also: Premier League Player of the Month nominees for May announced.

Arrow to top