Home News hazard suarez van persie included 2013 ballon dor award nominees

Hazard, Suarez, Van Persie included – 2013 Ballon d’Or award nominees



2013 Ballon d’Or nominees have been announced. 23 players from all around Europe have been nominated for football’s highest individual honour, with German Bundesliga leading the way with six nominees.

Ballon D'Or

In early December of this year, FIFA and France Football will announce the names of three men and three women, as well as three coaches from both men and women’s football, who have received the most votes; however winners will not be announced.

The three nominees for the FIFA Puskás Award and the FIFA FIFPro World XI shortlist for the best forwards, goalkeepers, defenders and midfielders will also be announced at the same time.

Former Tottenham Hotspur winger Gareth Bale, who has joined Real Madrid for a world record transfer fee, gets a nomination for his outstanding performances last season. Liverpool striker Luis Suarez also find a name among the nominees, while surprisingly Chelsea star Eden Hazard is also on the nominee list, though one might feel Juan Mata was unlucky to miss out.

Germany leads the race with seven representatives, six from Bayern Munich itself – Thomas Mueller, Phillip Lahm, Manuel Neuer, Franck Ribery, Arjen Robben and Bastian Schweinsteiger while Poland striker Roberto Lewandowski of Borussia Dortmund has also been included.

The complete list of Ballon d’Or Nominees is as follows:

Gareth Bale (Wales) – Tottenham Hotspur/Real Madrid

Edinson Cavani (Uruguay) – Napoli/PSG

Radamel Falcao (Colombia) – Atletico Madrid/Monaco

Eden Hazard (Belgium) – Chelsea

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden) – PSG

Andres Iniesta (Spain) – Barcelona

Phillip Lahm (Germany) – Bayern Munich

Robert Lewandowski (Poland) – Borussia Dortmund

Lionel Messi (Argentina) – Barcelona

Thomas Mueller (Germany) – Bayern Munich

Neymar (Brazil) – Santos/Barcelona

Manuel Neuer (Germany) – Bayern Munich

Mesut Ozil (Germany) – Real Madrid/Arsenal

Andrea Pirlo (Italy) – Juventus

Franck Ribery (France) – Bayern Munich

Arjen Robben (Holland) – Bayern Munich

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) – Real Madrid

Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany) – Bayern Munich

Luis Suarez (Uruguay) – Liverpool

Thiago Silva (Brazil) – PSG

Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast) – Manchester City

Robin Van Persie (Holland) – Manchester United

Xavi (Spain) – Barcelona