Fixtures for Carabao Cup third round revealed


The draw for the third round of the Carabao Cup has been completed.

The second round brought about several big results. Aston Villa, Norwich City and Arsenal hit their opponents for six, while Southampton comfortably defeated Newport County 8-0. Top-flight sides Newcastle United and Crystal Palace were eliminated early.

Seven more teams enter the competition at this stage, with all clubs participating in Europe being given a bye to the third round.

Manchester City get in on the act as they look to win their fifth Carabao Cup in a row, while Manchester United, Liverpool, Chelsea, Leicester City, West Ham United and Tottenham Hotspur also join.

Man City have won the competition four years on the trot

The Cityzens begin the defence of their crown with a visit from League One side Wycombe Wanderers, and the Red Devils will face West Ham in the headline tie of the round.

In total, there are five all-Premier League ties, as well as one London derby between Arsenal and AFC Wimbledon.

Full Carabao Cup third round draw

Queens Park Rangers vs Everton
Preston North End vs Cheltenham Town
Manchester United vs West Ham United
Fulham vs Leeds United
Brentford vs Oldham Athletic
Watford vs Stoke City
Chelsea vs Aston Villa
Wigan Athletic vs Sunderland
Norwich City vs Liverpool
Burnley vs Rochdale
Arsenal vs AFC Wimbledon
Sheffield United vs Southampton
Manchester City vs Wycombe Wanderers
Millwall vs Leicester City
Wolverhampton Wanderers vs Tottenham Hotspur
Brighton & Hove Albion vs Swansea City

Games are expected to be played on September 21 & 22.

Read: Mikel Arteta given six weeks to save Arsenal job.

Arrow to top