FIFA 2008 World Player of the Year: Cristiano Ronaldo

The FIFA World Player and FIFA Women’s World Player awards were announced in Zurich last night. Cristiano Ronaldo added the 2008 FIFA World Player of the Year award to go with his Ballon D’Or and FIFPro awards, make a clean sweep of all awards he’s been nominated for this year.

Brazilian forward Marta, who will be playing in the WPS next season, won the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year award third time in a row.

The awards are voted on by captains and head coaches of every national team. The shortlisted finalists were:

2008 FIFA World Player Finalists

Kaká (Brazil)
Lionel Messi (Argentina)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
Fernando Torres (Spain)
Xavi (Spain)

2008 FIFA Women’s World Player Finalists

Nadine Angerer (Germany)
Cristiane (Brazil)
Marta (Brazil)
Birgit Prinz (Germany)
Kelly Smith (England)

Latest news

View all
Arrow to top