Leicester City are crowned 2015/16 Premier League champions


Leicester City are crowned the 2015/16 Premier League champions, following Chelsea’s 2-2 draw with Tottenham Hotspur on Monday night at Stamford Bridge.

Spurs needed a win to keep their title hopes alive, and it looked like they would manage to take the title race for another weekend, when goals from Harry Kane and Son had put them 2-0 ahead at the break.

However, Chelsea fought back in the second half and restored parity through Gary Cahill and Eden Hazard. The draw meant Leicester City have sealed the Premier League title for the first time in their history.

Leicester have become the 24th different team to win the English League Championship title & the 6th in the Premier League era while Claudio Ranieri has become the 8th different manager to win the Premier League title.

What Leicester have done and achieved this season has been nothing short of phenomenal and the stuff of dreams. This is a team that narrowly escaped relegation last season, and a year later are crowned the champions of England. Call it a miracle, fairy tale, this is it.

It has been a crazy Premier League season really with so many unexpected twists and turns. The biggest story, however, has been Leicester’s road to glory. The Foxes have been simply outstanding from the beginning till the very end. Not only have they played an attractive football throughout the season, but to win the Premier League with two games to spare speaks volume of their monumental achievement. This is not only a watershed moment in Leicester’s history, but it has to be greatest sporting tale ever told.

Arrow to top