Home News chelseas john obi mikel shortlisted african player year award

Chelsea’s John Obi Mikel shortlisted for African Player of the Year Award



The African Football Confederation (CAF) today has announced the list of 25 players, nominated for the African Footballer of the Year, 2013 award. Chelsea star John Obi Mikel, who was also included in the BBC African Player of the Year award, has been the sole representative for the Blues, as Samuel Eto’o, the four times winner of the trophy, is a notable absentee.


Three Premier League players have been nominated in the list. Manchester City’s dynamic midfielder Yaya Toure and Southampton youngster Victor Wanyama features for Ivory Coast and Kenya respectively.

Former Blues striker Didier Drogba, who now plays for Galatasaray, has also been included while former Arsenal star, Gervinho, who plays for Roma, has also made the list.

The 26-year-old Mikel has been one of the star performers for Nigeria, as he guided his nation to their first Africa Cup of Nations crown for the best part of two decades. This season, under Jose Mourinho, he has struggled to cement his place, earning only three starts, thus far.

Nigeria have the most nominee with five players – Ahmed Musa, Emmanuel Emenike, John Obi Mikel, Sunday Mba and Vincent Enyeama. The ceremony will take place on January 9th in Lagos, Nigeria.

The 25 nominees (for names in alphabetical order):
Ahmed Musa (NGR / CSKA Moscow)
Asamoah Gyan (Gha / Al Ain)
Dame N’Doye (Sen / Lokomotiv Moscow)
Didier Drogba (Ivo / Galatasaray)
Emmanuel Emenike (NGR / Fenerbahçe)
Islam Slimani (Alg / Sporting Lisbon)
John Obi Mikel (NGR / Chelsea)
Jonathan Pitroipa (Bur / Rennes)
Kevin Constant (Gui / AC Milan)
Kwadwo Asamoah (Gha / Juventus)
Luís Carlos Almada Soares (CV / Omonia Nicosia)
Mehdi Benattia (Mar / AS Rome)
Mohamed About Erika (Egy / Al Ahly)
Mohamed Salah (Egy / FC Basel)
Nicolas Nkoulou (Cam / Marseille)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gab / Dortmund)
Ryan Mendes (Kaa / Lille)
Saladin Said (Eth / Wadi Degla)
Seydou Keita (Mal / Dalian Aerbin)
Sofiane Feghouli (Alg / Valencia)
Sunday Mba (NGR / Warri Wolves)
Victor Wanyama (Ken / Southampton)
Vincent Enyeama (NGR / Lille)
Gervinho (Ivo / AS Rome)
Yaya Toure ( Ivo / Manchester City)