Denmark Euro 2020 Squad – Christian Eriksen headlines Kasper Hjulmand’s star-studded cast


Denmark’s European Championship squad was announced on May 26, with the 1992 winners looking to improve on their group stage exit in 2012.

Although they are not given much chance ahead of the competition, the Danes could be the dark horses, with most of their players enjoying prominent roles in Europe’s top-five divisions.

The Premier League saw a wealth of Danish talent glitter in 2020/21.

From the 2021 FA Cup winner Kasper Schmeichel to Tottenham Hotspur’s indispensable starter Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg to Champions League winner Andreas Christensen, Danish stars have shined in England this season.

The contingent from abroad is nothing short of exceptional either. Entrusted with the build-up charge will be Inter Milan playmaker Christian Eriksen, who has found his feet down the final stretch of 2020/21.

The ex-Tottenham metronome will have Borussia Dortmund’s Thomas Delaney and the afore-mentioned Hojbjerg to keep him company in the middle of the pitch.

Flanked by Hoffenheim’s Robert Skov and Bologna’s Andreas Skov Olsen, RB Leipzig talisman Yussuf Poulsen will be Denmark’s main attacking threat this summer.

Challenging Poulsen for a place in Kasper Hjulmand’s starting XI will be Parma’s Andreas Cornelius, Barcelona’s Martin Braithwaite and Kasper Dolberg of Nice.

Denmark’s group of Belgium, Russia and Finland will provide a challenge. But given the quality and depth Hjumland has at his disposal, the Nordic country could go to the knock-outs shoulder-to-shoulder with Belgium.

Since suffering the 2004 quarter-final elimination to the Czech Republic, they have only qualified for the final tournament once, bowing out in the group stage back in 2012.

After missing out on the Euro 2016, the Danish Dynamite can rely on the benefits of playing on home soil as each of their three group stage fixtures will be contested in Copenhagen.

Denmark Euro 2020 Squad

Goalkeepers: Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester), Jonas Lossl (Midtjylland), Frederik Ronnow (Schalke).

Defenders: Jens Stryger Larsen (Udinese), Simon Kjaer (AC Milan), Andreas Christensen (Chelsea), Joachim Andersen (Fullham), Daniel Wass (Valencia), Mathias Jorgensen (Copenhagen), Joakim Maehle (Atalanta), Jannik Vestergaard (Southampton), Nicolai Boilesen (Copenhagen).

Midfielders: Mathias Jensen (Brentford), Christian Norgaard (Brentford), Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg (Tottenham), Thomas Delaney (Dortmund), Anders Christiansen (Malmo), Christian Eriksen (Inter Milan), Mikkel Damsgaard (Sampdoria), Robert Skov (Hoffenheim).

Forwards: Martin Braithwaite (Barcelona), Andreas Cornelius (Parma), Andreas Skov Olsen (Bologna), Yussuf Poulsen (Leipzig), Kasper Dolberg (Nice), Jonas Wind (Copenhagen).

Read Next: All Euro 2020 Squads.

Latest news

View all
Arrow to top