Cape Town: 2010 Host City

Cape Town is South Africa’s second largest city, and it’s the site of the third-largest World Cup 2010 venue, the 69,070-capacity Cape Town Stadium.

Cape Town, which is the legislative capital of South Africa, was the first permanent European settlement in South Africa. The city, located on the southwestern tip of South Africa, was founded in 1652 by Jan van Riebeeck and the Dutch East India Company, initially serving as a station for Dutch ships that were on voyages to eastern Africa, India, and the Far East.

Besides having been a past host city for the 1995 Rugby World Cup, the 2003 ICC Cricket World Cup, and the 2009 Indian Premier League cricket season, the Cape Town area also hosts the Cape Argus Pick ‘n Pay Cycle Tour, which is the world’s largest individually timed cycle race, and it also hosts the Red Bull Big Wave Africa surfing competition.

Having a month’s worth of World Cup matches in Cape Town is only going to serve as a further boost to a city that’s already South Africa’s top tourist destination and is arguably the top tourist destination in Africa, thanks in large part to the excellent year-round climate. That’s an important thing to remember given that the city has nearly two dozen beaches.

Along with its picturesque beaches, Cape Town has many other attractions, such as the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront (a popular shopping area), Table Mountain (which is featured on the city’s flag), and visitors can do everything from whale watching, to wine tasting, and of course, surfing.

See all World Cup host cities.

Latest news

View all
Arrow to top