Celebrating Manchester United’s 19th League Title

As Manchester United celebrate a historic 19th league title, there’s scarcely enough time to list all the records that have been broken by Sir Alex Ferguson’s team.

They’ve won 4 league titles in the last 5 years. They’ve won 12 Premier League titles. Ryan Giggs (12) and Paul Scholes (10) have won more league titles than anyone else in England except United, Liverpool and Arsenal.

During Sir Alex’s United tenure, he’s won as many major trophies (36) as the esteemed Bob Paisley (18), Brian Clough (10) and Bill Shankly (8) did over the course of their combined managerial careers.

Some records still remain – the Champions League for one. But with Sir Alex set to continue rebuilding his team, more will surely fall in the coming years.

To celebrate Manchester United’s 19th league title, we have a special selection of United merchandise for you on offer this week:

Manchester United will officially receive the Premier League title at Old Trafford next weekend when they play Blackpool in the final game of the season. In two weeks time they will take on Barcelona for the 2011 Champions League final (28th May) at Wembley, London, before returning to Manchester for a title celebration parade on 30th May.

As Sir Alex Ferguson has been so quick to remind us, there’s always a new challenge around the corner. In two weeks it’s Barcelona, next season United have to do it all over again in the league and in Europe. But for now, for the fans, for the next two weeks at least (and regardless of the result at Wembley, for the summer as well), it’s the time to celebrate.

Congratulations Manchester United, congratulations Sir Alex Ferguson!

Arrow to top