Roy Keane gets Sunderland promoted, should Newcastle fans be worried?

With Derby County losing today to Crystal Palace 2-0 that means that both Birmingham and Sunderland claim the automatic promotion spots to the Premiership.

Congratulations to the Sunderland Football Club, their players, their fans and specifically freshman Chairman Niall Quinn and manager Roy Keane for a fantastic first season at the club.

It’s just great that the Newcastle – Sunderland derbies will be back again next season — there are no bigger derbies anywhere.

It wouldn’t be at all surprising if Sunderland do well next year in the Premiership — since it seems likely that Quinn and Keane will look to improve their squad with multiple signings during the summer — so that not only do they survive in the Premiership — but they actually make a push for a high placing — and why not?

Hopefully, as Newcastle fans we have to hope that will spur Newcastle onto bigger and better things — starting with some quality signings in the summer.

There’s no reason why both Newcastle and Sunderland cannot be successful — it will be excellent for the north-east region — and hopefully this will spur Shepherd and Roeder on – to ensure we get in the right top quality players in the summer – to take Newcastle back up the league — where they belong.

The two of them certainly failed miserably to bring in the right players last summer — that must not happen this time around — we have to assume it will not.

Ed Harrison writes on the Newcastle United blog.

Is Sam Allardyce coming to manage your team?
Arsenal roundup / Eriksson for England / Prem roundup / Goal of the day


  1. dan 29 April, 2007
  2. Ahmed Bilal 29 April, 2007
  3. Ed Harrison 30 April, 2007
  4. Dave 30 April, 2007
  5. karan 30 April, 2007
  6. Sherwin 30 April, 2007
  7. Ed Harrison 30 April, 2007
  8. Dean 30 April, 2007
  9. The Artful Lounger 30 April, 2007
  10. Ahmed Bilal 30 April, 2007
  11. Ed Harrison 30 April, 2007
  12. Ahmed Bilal 30 April, 2007
  13. Toby 30 April, 2007
  14. Ed Harrison 30 April, 2007
  15. Ahmed Bilal 30 April, 2007
  16. Tommy Sparkles 2 May, 2007
  17. Ed Harrison 2 May, 2007
  18. Tommy Sparkles 2 May, 2007
  19. RAY SMITH 7 May, 2007