Home News wayne rooney pfa player of the year

Wayne Rooney, PFA Player of the Year



We sometimes use affiliate links in our content, when clicking on those we might receive a commission – at no extra cost to you. By using this website you agree to our terms and conditions and privacy policy.
Join our Telegram channel to stay up to date on breaking news coverage

No need for more panic, Capello’s star man has confirmed he will be fit for South Africa this summer. He has done a fantastic season with 34 goals for United and eight for England.

Rooney holds confidence that he could be playing against Stoke Sunday 9 May. He said:

“The groin will be fine for the World Cup, there are no worries about that. I’m hoping to play for United in the last game of the season.”

After he had been nominated for the PFA Player of the Year he told United Review:

“It’s nice that people put me up there, but I think Lionel Messi is the best in the world. The things he can do with the ball are unbelievable and he is scoring a lot of goals as well. He has been fantastic again this year. He is the best player in the world.”

Rooney is the first Englishman to win this award since Gerrard won it in 2006.

“It’s a great feeling to win the player of the year award because it’s voted for by the players. It’s something I’m really proud of and it’s a great honour. I remember coming here in 2005 and 2006 to win the young player of the year. I saw the players winning the main one and it’s something I’ve aimed for since.”

Wayne also talked about how Fergie has had an impact on his career:

Sir Alex is a great manager who has really brought me on as a player since I joined United. His hunger passes through to the players. It’s great to see that he’s pushing 70 and hasn’t changed a bit. I’m sure he’ll be here for a long time yet.”

Rooney was also nominated for the PFA Younger Player of the Year, award that was won by Aston Villa’s James Milner who appears to have pushed himself with his recent great performances, into the World Cup squad, and for this he thanks the fact that he has been changed of position.

The PFA Merit award was won by Lucas Radebe, Leeds and South Africa captain.

Premier League team of the year:

  • Keeper: Joe Hart (Birmingham)
  • Right back: Branislav Ivanovic (Chelsea)
  • Central defender: Thomas Vermaelen (Arsenal)
  • Central defender: Richard Dunne (Aston Villa)
  • Left back: Patrice Evra (Manchester United)
  • Central midfielder: Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal)
  • Left wing: James Milner (Aston Villa)
  • Central midfielder: Darren Fletcher (Manchester United)
  • Right wing: Antonio Valencia (Manchester United)
  • Striker: Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)
  • Striker: Didier Drogba (Chelsea)
Join our Telegram channel to stay up to date on breaking news coverage