Home News suarez sturridge and hazard among the nominees for pfa players player of the year

On The Attack! Liverpool dominate PFA Player’s Player of the Year nominations



We sometimes use affiliate links in our content, when clicking on those we might receive a commission – at no extra cost to you. By using this website you agree to our terms and conditions and privacy policy.

The candidates for the PFA Player’s Player of the Year award have been revealed, with six of the Premier League’s top stars for 2013/14 set to battle it out for the coveted prize.


Liverpool trio Luis Suarez, Daniel Sturridge and Steven Gerrard all feature, as does Chelsea winger Eden Hazard, Manchester City’s Yaya Toure, and Southampton captain Adam Lallana.

Striker Suarez is the clear favourite to win this year’s award, with the Uruguayan having an unstoppable season for Liverpool, firing them to within touching distance of a first Premier League title in 24 years. His 29 goals and 25 assists have made him arguably the most in-form striker in Europe, with the 27-year-old hoping to unleash merry hell on World Cup defences this summer.

His strike partner Sturridge has also been heavily among the goals, with the England striker rising to prominence under Brendan Rodgers this season with 20 goals already to his name. Reds skipper Steven Gerrard has thrived in a more withdrawn role this season, and completes the Liverpool triumvirate in the list of nominees.


Chelsea winger Eden Hazard has come into his own this season under the tutelage of Jose Mourinho, helping the Blues to the Champions League semi-final, and second place in the league, just two points behind Liverpool. His 14 goals and seven assists so far this season have made him Chelsea’s most prominent attacking force, and he will challenge strongly for this years PFA award.


The same goes for Ivorian midfielder Toure, who has reinvented himself as a goal-scoring sensation form the middle of the park. Previously conceived to be a combative central operator, the Manchester City man has pushed further forward this season to great effect, with 18 goal and five assists to his name.

Adam Lallana completes the list of candidates, with the Saints skipper in inspired form this season, pushing his side to eighth in the table, while simultaneously forcing his way into England boss Roy Hodgson’s World Cup plans for the summer.

Who should win the PFA Player’s Player of the Year award for 2014?
Eden Hazard
Adam Lallana
Daniel Sturridge
Luis Suarez
Yaya Toure
Steven Gerrard

Poll Maker

Who do you think should win? Get voting and let me know your thoughts in the comments below…

Previous article Will Martinez do the double over Moyes?
Next article Who should win the PFA Young Player of the Year 2014 award?

Based in London, I am a freelance journalist and a real football fanatic. Predominantly a feature writer, I currently contribute to Football-talk.co.uk, Soccerlens.com and Epltalk.com, as well as maintaining my blog: goodbadribery.blogspot.co.uk. I dream of reporting on football in the far flung reaches of the globe. A graduate from the London School of Journalism, I am passionate and determined to bring an impartial view on the game we all love and crave.