Home News ronaldo v torres who should win the pfa awards this season

Ronaldo v Torres – who should win the PFA awards this season?

Author image



We sometimes use affiliate links in our content, when clicking on those we might receive a commission – at no extra cost to you. By using this website you agree to our terms and conditions and privacy policy.

2 min read

Join our Telegram channel to stay up to date on the latest in marketing

Like last season, Ronaldo is a strong favourite for winning the Professional Footballers’ Association players’ player of the year and the PFA young player of the year awards.

Here’s the full list of nominations:

PFA player of the year:

Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal)
Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal)
Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)
Fernando Torres (Liverpool)
David James (Portsmouth)

PFA young player of the year

Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal)
Fernando Torres (Liverpool)
Gabriel Agbonlahor (Aston Villa)
Ashley Young (Aston Villa)
Micah Richards (Manchester City)

Despite the admirable performances of everyone listed here, the only two players with a real chance of winning awards here are Cristiano Ronaldo and Fernando Torres. Torres has taken the Premier League by storm, rubbishing critics and establishing himself as the best striker in the league by a mile. That he has done it in his first season – the last player to do this so successfully was Ruud van Nistelrooy, and his 40-goal seasons won’t be forgotten for a while – deserves an award on its own.

But this isn’t the ‘best newcomer award’. And, if Ronaldo was the best player in the Premier League last season, he has bettered himself in emphatic fashion this year. No signs of fatigue – the kind which has all but derailed Arsenal’s season – and equally at ease with scoring crucial goals home and away (Torres has a slightly lop-sided ratio there) and with his goals tally at 37, he is sure to end the season with 40+ and rewrite history books.

Depending on how these two stay fit and perform at Euro 2008, they should also be in contention for the Fifa world player of the year award, which this time should not including the Christian nomination of Kaka.

What do you think? Is Ronaldo a clear-cut winner or will Torres sneak in with a win?

Join our Telegram channel to stay up to date on the latest in marketing