Home News olympic football host nations

Olympic football host nations – usually not good at youth football



We sometimes use affiliate links in our content, when clicking on those we might receive a commission – at no extra cost to you. By using this website you agree to our terms and conditions and privacy policy.

Olympic host China’s performance in the Football tournament was similar to that of other hosts in recent Olympic Games. China, like five of the last six host nations were knocked out in the group phase.

Since 1920, only Spain (1992) have hosted the Olympic Games and won gold in Football:

Performance of host NOC in Olympic Men’s Football

Year Host Nation Finishing position
2008 China 3rd of 4 in Group phase
2004 Greece 4th of 4 in Group phase
2000 Australia 4th of 4 in Group phase
1996 USA 3rd of 4 in Group phase
1992 Spain Winners
1988 Korea 3rd of 4 in Group phase
1984 USA 3rd of 4 in Group phase
1980 Soviet Union Third place
1976 Canada 3rd of 3 in Group phase
1972 West-Germany Second round
1968 Mexico Fourth place
1964 Japan Quarterfinals
1960 Italy Fourth place
1956 Australia Second round
1952 Finland First round
1948 Great Britain Fourth place
1936 Germany Second round
1928 Netherlands First round
1924 France Third round
1920 Belgium Winners
1912 Sweden First round
1908 Great Britain Winners