Manchester United – New Squad Numbers for 2006/2007

Not exactly breaking news (no, Hargreaves hasn’t signed for Manchester United yet), but the new squad numbers for the upcoming season for Manchester United are listed below:

Manchester United Premiership 2006/2007 Squad Numbers

1. Van der Sar
2. Neville
3. Evra
4. Heinze
5. Ferdinand
6. Brown
7. Ronaldo
8. Rooney
9. Saha
11. Giggs
13. Park
14. Smith
15. Vidic
16. Carrick
17. Miller
18. Scholes
19. Rossi
20. Solskjaer
22. O’Shea
23. Richardson
24. Fletcher
25. D.Jones
27. Silvestre
29. Kuszczak
33. Eagles
38. Heaton
49. R.Jones


  • Of this lot, Chris Eagles (right winger), Tom Heaton (keeper) and Richard Jones (midfielder) are part of the reserves.
  • Numbers 10 and 12 are not assigned. 12 could be Hargreaves’ new number after he signs for Manchester United (if that goes through), while no. 10 is probably left open for a new striker United will buy this summer or the next. I don’t see Rossi moving into that shirt unless he manages to score 30 goals this season.
  • Evra’s number (3) shows that he was bought as a long-term replacement and backup for Heinze. Having said that, I think he will need to improve greatly if he is to eventually succeed Heinze as left-back.

Source: Manchester United Official Website

Ferguson is supposed to hold a ‘pre-season’ press conference in the afternoon today (Friday, 3 pm BST), two days before Manchester United take on Fulham (preview for that tomorrow). Apart from the usual “we can beat Chelsea” tales, Ferguson is also expected to talk about Hargreaves, Senna and the potential for bringing a new striker to Manchester United.

I’ll cover it in tonight’s roundup.

Arrow to top