Home News lionel messi ballon dor 2015 winner

Barcelona forward Lionel Messi wins his fifth Ballon d’Or



We sometimes use affiliate links in our content, when clicking on those we might receive a commission – at no extra cost to you. By using this website you agree to our terms and conditions and privacy policy.

FIFA have announced that Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d’Or 2015 today.

Widely regarded as the finest footballer ever, Lionel Messi had already won the coveted prize four times before today and has now added a fifth, at the FIFA gala in Zurich today.

The other finalists included his Barcelona teammate Neymar and fierce rival Cristiano Ronaldo. CYcU7I7WEAAi5B7 After an astonishing year with both club and country, Messi deservedly won the prestigious award.

Messi won it in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012, finishing second to Ronaldo in 2013 and 2014. _87480272_messi_ballon Finally, the Barcelona star has managed to dethrone Cristiano Ronaldo this year.

Lionel Messi’s best moments this year

February 2015: Messi scored a hat-trick against Levante to level Telmo Zarra’s record of 31 hat-tricks in all competitions.

April 2015: Messi scored his 400th Barcelona goal against Valencia.

May 2015: Messi becomes the top scorer in the Champions League after scoring his 77th Champions League goal against Bayern Munich.

May 2015: Won the league for Barcelona against Atletico Madrid with the only goal of the game.

August 2015: Two sensational goals in the European Super Cup final against Sevilla.

September 2015: Messi became the youngest footballer to reach 100 Champions League games.

December 2015: Messi helped Barcelona become the world champions by scoring in the Club World Cup final against River Plate.

January 2016: Messi becomes the only player to score in six different competitions in a season for the second time (did it in 2012 as well).

Other awards included the FIFA World XI, FIFA coach of the year and the Puskas award.

The FIFA World XI 2015


FIFA Coach of the year 2015


FIFA Puskas Award 2015