Home News england v trinidad and tobago june 08

England v Trinidad & Tobago – 1 June 2008 – Friendly



We sometimes use affiliate links in our content, when clicking on those we might receive a commission – at no extra cost to you. By using this website you agree to our terms and conditions and privacy policy.

Venue: Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain
Date: Sunday, 1 June
Kick-off: 2230 BST

David Beckham is set to start as England captain for the Trinidad game as Capello retained Rio Ferdinand and rested the remaining 7 English players involved in last week’s Champions League final.

Chelsea’s John Terry, Ashley Cole, Frank Lampard and Joe Cole, plus Manchester United’s Wayne Rooney, Owen Hargreaves and Wes Brown are out.

Chelsea full-back Wayne Bridge is in the squad, although the full-back did not play in the Champions League final. David Beckham is also in the 22-man squad travelling to the Caribbean and Capello is happy to keep him in his plans for the World Cup qualifying campaign.

The enforced rest means that new players could get a chance to stake their claim in the England setup. The backline will be reshaped, with Bridge, Woodgate and Glen Johnson expected to come in and Joe Hart and David Wheater expected to get some playing time as well.

In midfield we could see fewer changes with Barry, Beckham and Gerrard all expected to play major roles, although Bentley, Downing and Young could also get a run out.

Upfront, one of Ashton, Walcott and Agbonlahor will definitely get a chance.

Overall, this should be a good fixture for England’s second XI to play together and stake a claim for a starting berth.

England squad:

Goalkeepers: David James (Portsmouth), Joe Hart (Manchester City), Joe Lewis (Peterborough)

Defenders: Wayne Bridge (Chelsea), Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Glen Johnson (Portsmouth), Stephen Warnock (Blackburn), David Wheater (Middlesbrough), Jonathan Woodgate (Tottenham)

Midfielders: Gareth Barry (Aston Villa), David Beckham (LA Galaxy), David Bentley (Blackburn), Stewart Downing (Middlesbrough), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Tom Huddlestone (Tottenham), Ashley Young (Aston Villa)

Forwards: Theo Walcott (Arsenal), Gabriel Agbonlahor (Aston Villa), Dean Ashton (West Ham), Peter Crouch (Liverpool), Jermain Defoe (Portsmouth).