Belgium 2008 Olympic Football Squad

Belgium’s Men’s Olympic Football squad for Beijing 2008:

Jean-François De Sart (46)

Logan Bailly (22) (Racing Genk)
Yves De Winter (21) (Westerlo)
Yves Makabu-Makalambay (22) (Hibernian, Scotland)

Laurent Ciman (22) (Club Brugge)
Sepp De Roover (23) (Groningen, Netherlands)
Vincent Kompany (22) (Hamburg, Germany)
Landry Mulemo (21) (Standard Liège)
Sébastien Pocognoli (20) (AZ Alkmaar)
Thomas Vermaelen (22) (Ajax, Netherlands)
Jan Vertonghen (21) (Ajax, Netherlands)

Marouane Fellaini (19) (Standard Liège)
Faris Haroun (22) (Racing Genk)
Maarten Martens (24) (AZ Alkmaar, Netherlands)
Vadis Odjidja-Ofoe (19) (Hamburg, Germany)
Jeroen Simaeys (23) (Club Brugge)
Anthony Vanden Borre (20) (Genoa, Italy)

Moussa Dembélé (21) (AZ Alkmaar, Netherlands)
Tom De Mul (22) (Sevilla, Spain)
Stijn De Smet (23) (Cercle Brugge)
Roland Lamah (20) (Anderlecht)
Kevin Mirallas (20) (Lille, France)
Giuseppe Rossini (21) (KV Mechelen)

Belgium are in Group C alongside Brazil, hosts China and Oceania winners New Zealand. Their closest rivals for qualification from this group will be the hosts, and while I expect China to do well at home, Belgium have the technical ability to shut them out and progress to the knockouts.

Back to 2008 Olympic Football Squads.